EyePoint shared additions to scientific advisory board and conditional approval of trade name for EYP-1901


The SAB additions include Usha Chakravarthy, MBBS, PhD; Allen Ho, MD, FACS, FASRS, and Frank Holz, MD, FEBO, FAVO.

Image credit: AdobeStock/xy

(Image credit: AdobeStock/xy)

EyePoint Pharmaceuticals, Inc. has appointed 3 leading ophthalmologists to its Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). The SAB additions include Usha Chakravarthy, MBBS, PhD.; Allen Ho, MD, FACS, FASRS, and Frank Holz, MD, FEBO, FAVO. These 3 renowned retinal specialists will support the advancement of the EyePoint’s global clinical strategy ahead of the anticipated initiation of its Phase 3 pivotal trials in wet age-related macular degeneration (wet AMD) in the second half of this year.1

The growth of the board coincides with the US Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) conditionally accepted the trade name, DURAVYU (vorolanib intravitreal insert) for the EyePoint’s lead product candidate, EYP-1901. DURAVYU is an investigational product; it has not been approved by the FDA. The company notes that FDA approval and the timeline for potential approval is uncertain.1

Ramiro Ribeiro, MD, PhD, Chief Medical Officer of EyePoint shared how the scientific advisory board will play a role in the company’s upcoming work. In the press release1, he said, “We are honored to add these prominent leaders of the retina community to our SAB as we approach the topline data readout of the Phase 2 PAVIA trial for non-proliferative diabetic retinopathy later this quarter, and as we prepare for the initiation of our global Phase 3 program in the second half of 2024. The SAB’s strategic counsel, global expertise, and scientific knowledge will be incredibly valuable during this critical time in EyePoint’s growth and expansion. The caliber of our expanded SAB speaks to the quality and potential of our programs, and I look forward to this collaboration to further expand our product candidates and to bring novel treatment options to patients globally.”

Jay S. Duker, MD, President and Chief Executive Officer of EyePoint, expressed his thoughts on reaching these milestones in the release1, saying, “We are delighted to announce that ‘DURAVYU’ has been conditionally accepted as a proprietary name by the FDA for our lead product candidate, EYP-1901. This represents another step forward as we continue to advance DURAVYU through clinical development across three significant sight-threatening indications in our efforts to bring a safe and effective therapy with the potential to improve the treatment paradigm for patients.”

Carl Regillo, MD, FACS, is Co-Chair of EyePoint’s SAB. He shared his impressions on adding to the SAB as well as the future of working with EyePoint, saying, “Following EyePoint’s strong and convincing Phase 2 DAVIO 2 data for DURAVYU in wet AMD, I am delighted to have these distinguished leaders on the cutting edge of ophthalmic research join the SAB. I look forward to collaborating with Dr. Wykoff in his expanded role, as well as the renowned members of the SAB and EyePoint management team, as we work to improve the lives of patients with serious retinal diseases.”1

For further reading on the credentials and biographies of EyePoint Pharmaceuticals newest SAB members, visit EyePoint’s website.

1. EyePoint Pharmaceuticals Expands Scientific Advisory Board with World-Renowned Retina Specialists. Published April 2, 2024. Accessed April 9, 2024. https://finance.yahoo.com/news/eyepoint-pharmaceuticals-expands-scientific-advisory-110000268.html
Related Videos
Marion Munk, MD, PhD, presenting slides
Marion Munk, MD, PhD, presenting slides
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.